Contain articles written by researchers, academics and experts. Also known as scholarly or peer reviewed journals.
Journal titles Targeted search in one publication.
Databases Controlled search through many publications.
Searches ARU Library subscribed database content. Filter for Peer Reviewed Journals.
Google Scholar searches subscribed and non subscribed database content and book previews.
Access denied? Don't pay fees for unsubscribed articles. Use the Interlibrary Loan service.
Contact us for general library queries. If you need guidance on finding information and using resources you can book an appointment with Jane Shelley.
Use our Book a Librarian Service to Book 30 minute appointment.
There are a large number of journals available to you including the BMJ and Lancet. You also have access to BMJ Best Practice.
Journals@Ovid Complete - provides access to a large collection of medical & health journals.
BMJ (British Medical Journal) - choose Miscellaneous Ejournals for the current issues + back issues (Note: access guidance) | BMJ Open | British Journal of General Practice | Lancet | Medicine | New England Journal of Medicine | Clinical Medicine | BMC Medicine | Heart and Lung | Journal of Clinical Pharmacology | Journal of Medical Ethics | Medical Education | Medical Teacher | Medicine | Nature Medicine | Neuron | Statistics in Medicine | Surgery |
For the BMJ alternatively go direct to https://www.bmj.com/
Select login and choose - Login via institution - then select for Location - UK Access Management Federation and for institution, then select Anglia Ruskin University.
Increasingly research is published in Open Access format; this means that it's freely available without the need for a subscription.
Just because some resources are free doesn't mean that the quality isn't as good as other items that we have to pay for. Much funded research is now required to be published in Open Access format, and all the major academic publishers produce journals this way.
Some examples for medicine:
BMJ Open | BMJ Blogs | BMC Medicine | BMC Medical Education | BMC Journal Collection | Science Translational Medicine | Science Direct Open Journals Collection
There are also open access databases of research:
BMC Biomed Central | Cochrane Library | DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals | Europe PubMed Central | PubMed | PubMed Central (PMC) | TRIP Database |
There are many sources of systematic reviews - journals, databses, other resources. Find databases in the next section (tab).
Cochrane Library - link to lots of systematic reviews, clinical trials and other sources.
Systematic Reviews (Biomed Central) - aspects of the design, conduct and reporting of systematic reviews. Includes high quality systematic review protocols, systematic reviews related to a very broad definition of health, rapid reviews, updates of already completed systematic reviews, and methods research related to the science of systematic reviews, such as decision modeling.
PROSPERO - (International Prospective Register of Systematic Reviews) provides details of over 500 systematic reviews being undertaken in 33 different countries)