A database is a searchable collection of information and may contain a range of information including books, journal articles, reports, newspaper articles, reviews, film and TV.
Some specialise in one subject or a specific type of infomation (e.g journal articles), others have a range of information types suitable for all subjects.
See links in this Subject Guide
Search by database title and filter for Databases on Library Search.
List of subscribed ARU databases.
Contact the library for general queries. If you need guidance on finding information and using resources in this guide you'll be directed to Jolene Cushion your Subject Librarian. You can also book a 30 minute appointment with Jolene.
There are many databases that could potentially be useful for Music or Drama Therapy depending on your topic focus. Below are some suggestions but please see other Subject Guides for more options, for example Nursing (for health), Education, Psychology, Music and Drama.
PhD students should include Web of Science and/or Scopus in any systematic style search as these are the largest indexers of quality journals.
Health| CINAHL Ultimate: Journal articles in nursing and allied health. |  |
MEDLINE: Journal articles in biomedical sciences and health. |
 |
| ScienceDirect: Journal articles in sciences and humanities published by Elsevier. |  |
Cochrane Library: Systematic reviews |  |
Psychology and Mental Health|
PsycInfo: Psychology journal article index with some full text |
 |
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection: Journal articles in psychology. Strong in child and adolescent psychology and areas of counselling. |  |
| Professional Development Collection: Journal articles collated for professional educators, strong on child and adolescent development. |  |
PTSDPubs: provides citations and abstracts to worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma. |  |
Education| Education Database: Journal articles, strong in special education, home schooling and adult education. |  |
Education Abstracts: Index and abstract but links through to full text ARU library subscriptions. Strong in adult and multicultural education. |  |
| ERIC: Large index of journal articles in education but links through to full text ARU library subscriptions. |  |
British Education Index: UK education journal articles, strong in Special Educational Needs (SEN). |  |
Arts & Humanities| Digital Theatre Plus: British theatre productions, includes study guides and interviews with practitioners. |  |
Broadway on Demand: Musicals, plays, and contemporary dance performances, and behind-the-scenes series, documentaries, and masterclasses. |  |
| JSTOR: Large academic archive, includes journal articles and primary sources across disciplines. |  |
Arts Premium Collection: Journal articles. Includes Music Periodicals and Performing Arts Periodicals databases. |  |
| Project Muse: Academic peer reviewed articles covering Humanities and Social Science. |  |
Other| SCOPUS: World’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. |  |
Web of Science: Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Similar to SCOPUS. |  |
| Overton: policy documents, many on music therapy and you can see which cite ARU research. |  |
Sage Research Methods: E-books, definitions, videos, podcasts and project planner on research methods. |  |
| BoB Learning On demand: TV and radio from free to air channels. Record past and scheduled programs, make clips and playlists. |  |
Onefile News: World newspapers including current access to Daily Mail, The Guardian and The Observer. |  |
|
Statista: statistics and reports |
 |
LinkedIn Learning: Tutorials to learn and improve business, creative and technological skills. |  |