Usually provide an overview of key theory/theorists for your subject or in-depth coverage on a specific topic.
Want to borrow a book ARU Library doesn't have? Use the Interlibrary Loan service or Suggest a book for purchase.
Contact the library for general queries. If you need guidance on finding information and using resources in this guide you'll be directed to Jolene Cushion your Subject Librarian. You can also book a 30 minute appointment with Jolene.
000-699.99 are on the 2nd floor at Cambridge
700-999.99 are on the 3rd floor at Cambridge
Scores and DVDs are shelved in their own collections in Cambridge on the 1st floor, following the same shelf number system (Dewey).
| 20th Century art | 709.04.. |
| 21st Century art | 709.05.. |
| Aesthetics | 111.85 |
| Architecture, buildings & interior design | 720-729 |
| Art therapy | 615.85156/616.891656 |
| Decorative arts, crafts, fashion, textiles, furniture | 745-749 |
| Drawing, graphic design & illustration | 741-743 |
| Galleries, museums & collections | 708 |
| History of art and art movements | work of artists | 709 |
| Iconography, subject matter of art | 704 |
| Painting and painters | 750-759 |
| Philosophy, theory, criticism of art | 700-701 |
| Photography & cinematography | 770-779 |
| Printmaking & printmakers | 760-769 |
| Sculpture, plastic arts | 730-739 |
| Software | 006.686 |
Bloomsbury Cultural History contains e-books plus the Cultural Histories Series. These are multi volume works that focus on cultural themes from antiquity to the modern age. Examples are animals, emotions, gardens, the human body, ideas, money, peace, senses, money, and sexuality.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography contains over 60,000 biographies of people who have shaped the history of the British Isles including Artists. Each biography is written by an expert on the person.
Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers contains biographies of philosophers, includes Art and Aesthetics as browsable categories.
Themed book suggestions available in the library:
