A database is a searchable collection of information and may contain a range of information including books, journal articles, reports, newspaper articles, reviews, film and TV.
Some specialise in one subject or a specific type of infomation (e.g journal articles), others have a range of information types suitable for all subjects.
See links in this Subject Guide
Search by database title and filter for Databases on Library Search.
List of subscribed ARU databases.
Contact the library for general queries. If you need guidance on finding information and using resources in this guide you'll be directed to Jolene Cushion your Subject Librarian. You can also book a 30 minute appointment with Jolene.
Network| a-n: Strengthen your professional network with free membership to the UK's largest art community. Keep up to date with blogs, news, jobs and events. Log in via University details (Shibboleth) for general access or follow registration instructions on the library link for personal membership. This provides additional access to the online community, allowing you to post blogs, network and view job opportunities. |  |
Articles (journals & magazines)| Arts Premium Collection: Journal and magazine articles. Includes art, design and architecture. |  |
JSTOR: Large academic archive, includes journal articles and primary sources across disciplines. |  |
| Project Muse: Academic peer reviewed articles covering Humanities and Social Science. |  |
PhilPapers: Philosophy database with extensive section on aesthetics. |  |
| CINAHL Plus: Journal articles in nursing and allied health. |  |
MEDLINE: Journal articles in biomedical sciences and health. |
 |
| ScienceDirect: Journal articles in sciences and humanities published by Elsevier. |  |
Cochrane Library: Systematic reviews |  |
|
PsycInfo: Psychology journal article index with some full text |
 |
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection: Journal articles in psychology. |  |
| Professional Development Collection: Journal articles collated for professional educators. |  |
PTSDPubs: provides citations and abstracts to worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma. |  |
|
GreenFILE: index with some full-text covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. |
 |
Other| LinkedIn Learning: Tutorials to learn and improve business, creative and technological skills. |  |
Sage Research Methods: E-books, definitions, videos, podcasts and project planner on research methods. Includes arts-based research methods. |  |
| BoB Learning On demand: TV and radio from free to air channels. Record past and scheduled programs, make clips and playlists. |  |
Onefile News: World newspapers including current access to Daily Mail, The Guardian and The Observer. |  |
| SCOPUS: World’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. |  |
Web of Science: Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Similar to SCOPUS. |  |