It is a good idea to organise your references in folders (called 'collections') by module or topic. You can create a new folder by selecting the 'new folder' icon at the top of the left hand panel:
When you import new references from a database the default is to add them to a new collection. If you are adding items using the Zotero connector extension you will have the option to select which folder you would like the item to be stored in. Otherwise items will be stored in the top level 'My Library'.
To move items between collections, simply click, drag and drop them into a different folder.
You can also easily rename a collection, move a collection or add a sub collection by right clicking on the name of the collection.
To delete an item entirely select the reference you wish to delete and either simply press 'delete' on your keyboard or right click on the item and select 'Move item to bin'.
If you want to remove an item from a collection, right click on the item and select 'Remove item from collection'. The item will now be in the 'Unfiled items' folder.
Deleted items will remain in the 'Bin' until you permanently delete them.
There may be duplicate references in your Zotero account if you have imported references from several sources. Zotero allows you to identify these and select a single version of the reference that will appear in all collections in which it has been saved. If the item was repeated within a single collection, the additional versions within that collection will be deleted.
Going through this process will help you to more readily identify duplicates if you are using Excel to screen for duplicates as part of the systematic review process.
There are various ways of sharing collections with colleagues. The ability to create groups may be useful if you are working on a project with others.
The My Publications feature allows you to create and share bibliographies of your research on zotero.org.
Tags function like index terms, or descriptors. Unless you explicitly tell Zotero that you do not want tags imported with your references, tags will automatically be assigned to many of your items.
You also have the ability to add, delete and search for tags.
All the tags for the collection that you are currently viewing will be in the bottom left hand corner of your screen:
To search for all items across you entire Zotero account with a particular tag, first change your view to Display all tags in this library (see drop-down arrow in the image above) and then search for the name of the tag. Alternatively, select the drop-down menu in the search bar at the top of the central panel and select Advanced Search.
To filter your search to tags, select Tag from the drop-down menu (default Any Field).
Tags can be added and deleted using the right hand panel. You will need to scroll down to the bottom. Use the plus sign (+) to add a tag. If you hover over a tag you can use the minus sign (-) to remove a tag.
It is possible to add either a standalone note (that is not directly related to any item in your library) or a new item note which appears as an attachment to a specific reference.
To add a note select the icon circled below:
Alternatively, for item notes, you can either right click on the reference you wish to attach the note to and select Add Note or scroll towards the bottom of the right hand panel and click the plus sign (+) to add a new note:
If you hover over a note you will see a minus sign (-) which you can use to delete a note.
To search for a note, select the drop-down menu in the search bar at the top of the central panel, and select Advanced Search.
To filter your search to notes, select Note from the drop-down menu (default Any Field).