Contain articles written by researchers and academics. Also known as scholarly journals. Most are peer reviewed. Peer review is a quality control process where articles are reviewed by a panel of subject experts before publication.
Articles (or 'papers') usually report on a research project or provide an in depth review of a specific topic. Journals also include other content such as book reviews and editorials.
Not all journal articles are free to read, many are behind paywalls. The Library subscribes to a lot of journal titles so you can read articles. You need to login to show you are a member of ARU to access this content.
Contact the library with general questions. You'll be redirected quickly to the Subject Librarian team if you need help using resources in this guide, finding information sources or referencing,
Need more in-depth help? Book an appointment with your Subject Librarian, Andrea Packwood.
Use keywords, authors' names, or specific article titles to find articles by searching in the resources below:
Library Search will help you discover ARU subscribed content and some open access content.
Filter to show Peer Reviewed Journals. See our Guide to Searching to find out more.
Google Scholar searches for articles on websites that Google can reach so will show some content that isn't available in full. Set your Library Links to see Library subscribed content and install the LibKey Nomad browser extension if searching the internet more generally.
Use databases to find articles using their good quality search tools. Find more on the Database page of this guide.
Browse journals by broad subject category or use the A-Z list.
Alternatively, look for the title on Library Search and use the Journals filter.
Check the content of a specific journal to keep up-to-date or see a range of articles. Search within an online journal using keywords or authors' names. Set alerts to receive an email when new articles are published.
This is a very small selection of the titles we have available for you to use.
To access these titles, click on the links below to open the Library record. Then click on the link under Find Online to access the source itself.
Applied Cognitive Psychology | Applied Psychology: Health and Well-being | Autism | Behavioural and Brain Sciences | Cerebral Cortex | Clinical Psychology & Psychotherapy | Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience (use MIT Press link under Find Online) | Journal of Positive Psychology | Journal of the International Neuropsychological Society | Psychology and Sexuality | Qualitative Research in Psychology | Quarterly Journal of Experimental Psychology | Social and Personality Psychology Compass | All British Psychological Society journal titles are included within Wiley Online Library
The following databases also contain many more journals and their articles in full.
PsycArticles | ScienceDirect | WileyOnline Library | Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection | PubMed Central |European PubMed Central .
Use resources on the Databases page of this Guide to help you find good quality content.
Use the following tips to help access articles to read in full - you should never need to pay for an article while studying at ARU.
Using Library Search? All results on Library Search should be available to read in full - Login before you start searching.
Looking for articles from a different starting point?
Trying to access something on PsycNet? PsycNet is an APA platform that hosts APA databases - you cannot access full-text direct from the APA. The same content is accessed on the EBSCOhost platform at ARU. Use Library Search to access full articles or install LibKey Nomad.
No full-text? Request a copy free-of-charge using InterLibrary Loan service. Delivery times vary but can be same day.
Contact the library with questions about access to articles or whole journals
* Banner image credit: The healing touch, emotional cancer journey, artwork. Credit: Michele Angelo Petrone. Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)