Search Guide: Off-campus access

Off-Campus Access

Most of our full-text e-resources (journal articles, e-books etc) can be accessed anywhere off-campus after logging in to the Library website. 

Some databases require an additional login; follow the instructions that appear when you click on the title of an item under "Find Online".

You may need to use your Anglia Ruskin Institutional login within some of our databases in order to access articles when you are off-campus.

• You may be asked to choose your country first. Choose United Kingdom.

• You may need to choose Shibboleth, UK Federation Access Management or UK Federation from a list of access options. 

• To complete an Institutional login you will usually have to search for and choose Anglia Ruskin University from a list of institutions.  You should be given the opportunity to type Anglia Ruskin University into a search box and select our name from the list you retrieve. 

We do not use individual Athens passwords or personal logins to access any of our resources.

If you are searching on Google or directly inside databases and are asked for an Athens password, search for the resource on the Library website instead to see if it is accessible via our subscriptions.

For items we don't have access to through our subscriptions, use our Interlibrary Loan service to see if we can source it from another library. 

If you think there is an error blocking your access, please get in touch. Either click the Report a Problem with this Resource link on the resource's library record or head to our Contact Us page.

Libkey Browser Extension

Make it even easier to find and access content supplied by ARU Library even when you're browsing the internet by installing the Libkey Nomad browser extension.

If you find something useful for your research while on another website Libkey is able to quickly search ARU Library's collections in the background to see if it's already available to you and provide you with access quickly. More information is available on our Libkey guide if you want to learn more.

Paying for Articles

You may see a request for payment when you try to access a full-text article.

We do not expect you to pay for articles in this way.  A payment request can mean one of three things:

• You need to login to view the content you want to access.  Make sure you are logged in to the Library website and/or look for an 'institutional login' option somewhere on the page.
• We may not subscribe to the content you are trying to access.  Double check to see which years are covered by our subscription to the journal in question by carrying out a Library Search for the Journal title. If we do not have full-text access, use our Interlibrary Loan service to obtain a copy of the article.
• There may be a system error for the particular article or journal you are trying to access. Use our Report a Problem to clarify.

Encountering problems while trying to access resources off-campus? Double-check the following things:

• In the database/journal is Anglia Ruskin University appearing at the top of the screen e.g. "Brought to you by Anglia Ruskin University"? If not, you may not be logged in. Remember to look out for "Institutional login".

• What is the published date of the resource you are trying to access? Is this within our subscription range? The date range of our subscription will be noted under the link to the journal on the library record

• Is there a known issue with this resource? Check our Known Issues/Upgrades page to see if we are already aware of a problem with the database/journal you are trying to access.