Usually provide an overview of key theory/theorists for your subject or in-depth coverage on a specific topic.
Want to borrow a book ARU Library doesn't have? Use the Interlibrary Loan service or Recommend a book for purchase.
The University Library provides access to a large number of e-books which you can usually access online anywhere and anytime. Search the Library website and look out for books which indicate: 'online access available' or 'full text available'. There's help on accessing e-books in the Search Guide.
You can also search our e-book collections.
Many of our books are available in both print and e-book formats, but unfortunately, not all print books are available to the library as e-books.
Search other libraries using these catalogues.
Using other libraries
Interlibrary Loans
If you need a book, journal article or dissertation that we do not stock, our Interlibrary Loans Service can usually obtain it for you from an external library.
See our Interlibrary Loans page for further information.
The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures
by
Nationally recognised as the definitive guide to clinical nursing skills, The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures has provided essential nursing knowledge and up-to-date information on nursing skills and procedures for over 30 years. Now in its 9th edition, this full-colour manual provides the underlying theory and evidence for procedures enabling nurses to gain the confidence they need to become fully informed, skilled practitioners. Written with the qualified nurse in mind, this manual provides up-to-date, detailed, evidence-based guidelines for over 200 procedures related to every aspect of a person′s care including key information on equipment, the procedure and post-procedure guidance, along with full colour illustrations and photos. Following extensive market research, this ninth edition: contains the procedures and changes in practice that reflect modern acute nursing care includes thoroughly reviewed and updated evidence underpinning all procedures is organised and structured to represent the needs of a patient along their care pathway integrates risk-management into relevant chapters to ensure it is central to care contains revised procedures following 'hands-on' testing by staff and students at Kingston University is also available as an online edition
If you prefer to browse the library shelves, here are the main numbers for subjects relevant to nursing:
| Anatomy & Physiology | 612 |
| Community & District Nursing | 610.7343 |
| Diseases | 616 |
| Health Care | 362.1 |
| Health Promotion | 613 |
| Leadership & Management (Nursing) | 362.173068 | 610.73068 |
| Management (General) | 658 |
| Old People (Health & Health Care) | 362.6 | 618.9200231 |
| Nursing | 610.73 |
| Paediatrics | 610.73621 | 618.9200231 |
| Prescribing | 615.1 |
| Prescribing (Nursing) | 610.730692 |
| Psychiatric / Mental Health Nursing |
610.7368 | 616.890231 |
| Psychiatry | 616.89 |
| Psychology | 150 |
| Public Health | 614 |
| Public Health (Nursing) | 610.734 |
| Research Methods (Nursing) | 610.73072 |
Look for books on the library shelves at the following numbers.
| Leadership | 303.34 |
| Leadership & Management (Health) | 362.173068 | 610.73068 |
| Management | 658 |
| Psychology of Leadership | 158.4 |
Understanding and Managing Change in Healthcare
by
Change happens constantly in healthcare contexts and professionals, whether newly qualified or managing staff, need to be ready to understand, adapt to, manage and implement change as necessary whilst continuing to work effectively in busy environments. Unlike most change management texts, this book focuses specifically on change in frontline healthcare practice. It covers the process of change from problem identification, to evaluation of new practice, to continuation of change. Offering practical guidance in an accessible style, all health professionals alike should not be without this book.
Effective Leadership, Management and Supervision in Health and Social Care
by
We have many online reference books such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias, atlases, statistics and more. Some resources are general, such as the Oxford English Dictionary, whilst others are specific to your subject.
A Dictionary of Nursing
by
The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully updated and revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on areas such as nutrition, medical research, lymphology, and critical care nursing. Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,400 clear and concise entries on the theory and practice of nursing, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 17 appendices covering the Code of Conduct 2015, the calculation of drug dosages, essential skill clusters, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and much more, make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
