Contain articles written by researchers and academics. Also known as scholarly journals. Most are peer reviewed. Peer review is a quality control process where articles are reviewed by a panel of subject experts before publication.
Articles usually report on a research project or provide an in depth review of a specific topic. Articles are also known as papers. Journals also include other content such as book reviews and editorials.
Not all journal articles are free to read, many are behind paywalls. The Library subscribes to a lot of journal titles so you can read articles. You need to login to show you are a member of ARU to access this content.
Contact the library with general questions. You'll be redirected quickly to the Subject Librarian team if you need help with finding information sources or referencing,
Need more in-depth help? Book an appointment with your Subject Librarian, Andrea Packwood.
Use keywords, authors' names, or specific article titles.
Library Search will help you discover ARU subscribed content and some open access content. Filter to show Peer Reviewed Journals. See our Guide to Searching to find out more.
Google Scholar searches for articles on websites that Google can reach so will show some content that isn't available in full. Set your Library Links to see Library subscribed content and install the LibKey Nomad browser extension if searching the internet more generally.
Use databases to find articles using their good quality search tools.Find more on the Database page of this guide.
Browse journals by broad subject category or use the A-Z list.
Alternatively, look for the title on Library Search and use the Journals filter.
Check the contents of a specific journal to keep up-to-date or see a range of articles. Search within an online journal using keywords or authors' names. Set alerts to receive an email when new articles are published.
This is a very small selection of the titles we have available for you to use.
To access these titles, click on the links below to open the Library record. Then click on the link under Find Online to access the source itself.
Forensic Science International | Journal of Forensic Sciences | Science and Justice |
The following databases contain many more journals and their articles in full.
ScienceDirect | WileyOnline Library | PubMed Central |European PubMed Central | ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection | ProQuest Social Sciences Premium | Westlaw UK | Royal Society of Chemistry Journal Archive
These databases are useful repositories of full articles - you will find articles from these sources in your Library Search and Google Scholar results. If you are doing a literature search, it is important to use other databases to get a full range of articles on your topic. Find out more on the Databases page of this Guide.
Access to resources is smoother if you logged in to the Library website within the browser you are using to search - regardless of how you are searching. Don't pay for articles. Use our InterLibrary Loan to get a copy free of charge.
Get in touch if you're not sure if you've got any questions about accessing resources but here are some tips that might help.
Using Library Search and can't get through to full-text?
Can't access something you've found on Google or Google Scholar?
Get articles you cannot find in full-text using our InterLibrary loan service.