Usually provide an overview of key theory/theorists for your subject or in-depth coverage on a specific topic.
Want to borrow a book ARU Library doesn't have? Use the Interlibrary Loan service or Suggest a book for purchase.
Contact the library for general queries. If you need guidance on finding information and using resources in this guide you'll be directed to Jolene Cushion your Subject Librarian. You can also book a 30 minute appointment with Jolene.
Literature:| Literary theory and philosophy of literature | 801 |
| Dictionaries and encyclopedias of literature | 803 |
| Literary history and criticism | 809 |
| Literature | 810-899 |
| American literature (in English) | 810-819 |
| American Poetry/ Drama/ Fiction | 811/ 812/ 813 |
| English Literature | 820-829 |
| English Poetry/ Drama/ Fiction | 821/ 822/ 823 |
| Shakespeare | 822.33 |
Writing and Publishing:| Book design | 741.64 |
| Dictionaries and encyclopedias of literature | 803 |
| Literature | 810-899 |
| Literary history and criticism | 809 |
| Literary theory and philosophy of literature | 801 |
| Magazine design | 741.652 |
| Publishing | 070.5 |
| Publishing law | 343.410998 |
| Scriptwriting | 808.23 |
| Writing | 808 |
| Writing drama | 808.2 |
| Writing fiction | 808.3 |
| Writing poetry | 808.1 |
| Wrting radio | 808.222 |
Language and Linguistics:| Social research | 300.72 |
| Communication | 302.2 |
| Intercultural communication | 303.482 |
| Sociolinguistics | 306.44 |
| Bilingualism | 306.446 or 404.2 |
| Study skills | 371.30281 |
| Language theory | 401s |
| Linguistics | 410-418 |
| English language | 420 |
| Languages | 420-499 |
| EFL & English for specific purposes | 428s & 428.24 |
| English Language Teaching | 428.007 |
| EFL readers | 428.64 |
Themed book suggestions available in the library:
Alongside a large collection of e-books, ARU Library also subscribes to a number of digitised book databases:
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. Gives meaning, usage and history of individual words.
The national record of people who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. Includes reference lists and links to bibliographies via BBIH.
Access to the British & European multi volume history reference books by Cambridge University Press.
Cultural history e-books, timeline, images and research tools covering antiquity to modernity.
European books printed prior to 1701. Access is to collections 1-4 and Wellcome Trust Collection.
