LibGuides: Town Planning: Databases

Databases

A database is a searchable collection of information and may contain a range of information including books, journal articles, reports, newspaper articles, reviews, film and TV.

Some specialise in one subject or a specific type of infomation (e.g journal articles), others have a range of information types suitable for all subjects.

Search for databases

Search by database title and filter for databases on Library Search.

List of subscribed databases.

Need help?

Find library workshops and more online information from our Study Skills Plus pages.

Contact the library with general questions. You'll be redirected to the Subject Librarian team if you need help with finding information sources or referencing.

For students studying at L5 and above - need more in-depth help? Book a 30 minute appointment with your Subject Librarian.

Database links and information

Architecture

ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection:
Current and comprehensive indexing for architecture, design and history.

JSTOR:
Large academic archive, includes journal articles and primary sources across disciplines.

Project Muse:
Academic peer reviewed articles covering Humanities and Social Science.

Building and Construction

Construction Information Service (CIS):
Quickly access current regulations, technical advice and industry news on building engineering, design and construction processes in the UK and Republic of Ireland.

ISURV:
A comprehensive, professional building resource from RICS. It has all the up to date knowledge you need to make better, more informed decisions.

Digimap:
The most comprehensive online mapping and geospatial data available in the UK. Users need to register for each service within Digimap.

Legal databases

LexisLibrary:
UK legislation and case law, academic and professional articles.

Westlaw UK:
UK legislation and case law, key e-textbooks, definitions, topic introductions and current awareness.

Management

Association of Researchers in Construction Management (ARCOM):
This collection aims to further the advancement of knowledge in all aspects of management in construction by supporting education, dissemination and research. Requires individual membership to access most content.

Business Source Premier:
Journal articles, company reports, market research, SWOT analysis and industrial profiles.

Emerald Management Xtra:
Research based journal articles and case studies in management, engineering, technology and other subjects.

Emerald Premier: Engineering Collection:
Emerald's dedicated collection of engineering journals.

Multidisciplinary databases

Academic OneFile:
Journal articles covering physical and social science, technology, engineering and many other subjects.

ProQuest SciTech Collection:
A collection of science and technology journals.

ScienceDirect:
Find articles and images from over 2,500 science and humanities journals published by Elsevier. High volume of articles available as full-text.

SCOPUS:
World’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.

Web of Science:
Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Similar to SCOPUS.

Multimedia resources

LinkedIn Learning:
Tutorials to learn and improve business, creative and technological skills.

Sage Research Methods:
E-books, definitions, videos, podcasts and project planner on research methods.

BoB Learning On Demand:
TV and radio from free to air channels. Record past and scheduled programs, make clips and playlists.

Onefile News:
World newspapers including current access to Daily Mail, The Guardian and The Observer.