A database is a searchable collection of information and may contain a range of information including books, journal articles, reports, newspaper articles, reviews, film and TV.
Some specialise in one subject or a specific type of infomation (e.g journal articles), others have a range of information types suitable for all subjects.
See links in this Subject Guide
Search by database title and filter for Databases on Library Search.
List of subscribed ARU databases.
Contact the library for general queries. If you need guidance on finding information and using resources in this guide you'll be directed to Jolene Cushion your Subject Librarian. You can also book a 30 minute appointment with Jolene.
Academic sources| Social Sciences Premium Collection: Journal articles from the social sciences. |  |
Academic OneFile: Journal articles from a range of subject areas, including social sciences. |
 |
| JSTOR: Large academic archive of journal articles and primary sources. |  |
Emerald: Journal articles mostly on management, economy and development. Has filter for United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. |  |
| SCOPUS: World’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. |  |
Web of Science: Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Similar to SCOPUS. |  |
| Sage Research Methods: E-books, definitions, videos, podcasts and project planner on research methods. |  |
Statistics and reports|
Statista: statistics and reports Overton: policy documents |
  |
Office for National Statistics: The UK's official statistics agency, providing a huge range of data. |  |
Media, news and magazines| Onefile News: World newspapers including current access to Daily Mail, The Guardian and The Observer. |  |
General Onefile: General interest articles from magazines and the press. |  |
| Gale Primary Sources: British newspapers from 1604 to the early 21st Century. Includes Times Digital Archive, The Times from 1785. |  |
Libby App Use the website or download the app to get access to over 4000 magazines. Link to Anglia Ruskin Library and Sign in with my card. |  |
| BoB Learning On demand: TV and radio from free to air channels. Record past and scheduled programs, make clips and playlists. |  |