A database is a searchable collection of information and may contain a range of information including books, journal articles, reports, newspaper articles, reviews, film and TV.
Some specialise in one subject or a specific type of infomation (e.g journal articles), others have a range of information types suitable for all subjects.
See links in this Subject Guide
Search by database title and filter for Databases on Library Search.
List of subscribed ARU databases.
When searching for journal articles and research papers always start with your keywords. Are there any alternative words (synonyms) e.g. elder, older adults, geriatric etc.
For help with searching see the Literature Searching section or our Information Skills guide.
What's the difference between Pubmed and Medline? - See these guides:
Medline, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How different are they?
Wolters Kluwer: A guide to the NLM (National Library of Medicine) databases
How to use the databases - user guides:
Find library workshops and more online information from our Study Skills Plus pages.
Contact the library with general questions. You'll be redirected to the Subject Librarian team if you need help with finding information sources or referencing.
For students studying at L5 and above - more than a quick question? Book a 30 minute appointment with your Subject Librarian: Jane Shelley, Karen Ready and Peter Stokes.
US administration impact on research and data availability
Actions by the US government since 20 January 2025 have impacted and are continuing to impact research and potential access to data.
Please see this guide for more information and useful alternative links.
EBSCOhost databases such as Medline and CINAHL plus are changing. See this page for details.
Health and Medical| CINAHL Ultimate: Journal articles in nursing and allied health. |  |
MEDLINE: Journal articles in biomedical sciences and health. |
 |
| ScienceDirect: Journal articles in sciences and humanities published by Elsevier. |  |
Cochrane Library: Systematic reviews |  |
| Embase Journal articles and research papers medical, biomedical and pharmacological subject areas.. |  |
PubMed: free access to 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature LibKey Nomad - browser extension to link easily to ARU journal content from Pubmed. |
 |
Science | British Standards Online.Full-text access to the British Standards (BSI). Also provides an index to over 300,000 Standards from more than 400 other standards organisations. |  |
JSTOR: Large academic archive, includes journal articles and primary sources across disciplines. |  |
| Proquest SciTech Premium Collection science and technology research |  |
SPORTSDiscus sports including sports medicine, health education, exercise, nutrition, biomechanics. |  |
| ScienceDirect: Journal articles in sciences and humanities published by Elsevier. | |
Web of Science: Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. |  |
Psychology and Mental Health|
PsycInfo: Psychology journal article index with some full text |
 |
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection: Journal articles in psychology. Strong in child and adolescent psychology and areas of counselling. |  |
| Professional Development Collection: Journal articles collated for professional educators, strong on child and adolescent development. |  |
PTSDPubs: provides citations and abstracts to worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma. |  |
Leadership and Management|
General business and management database which includes journal articles on healthcare management. |
 |
Also contains journal articles on healthcare management. |
 |
|
Includes journal articles on healthcare management. |
 |
Also contains journal articles on healthcare management. |
 |
Other| SCOPUS: World’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. |  |
Web of Science: Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Similar to SCOPUS. | |
| LinkedIn Learning: Tutorials to learn and improve business, creative and technological skills. |  |
Sage Research Methods: E-books, definitions, videos, podcasts and project planner on research methods. |  |
| BoB Learning On demand: TV and radio from free to air channels. Record past and scheduled programs, make clips and playlists. |  |
Onefile News: World newspapers including current access to Daily Mail, The Guardian and The Observer. |  |