A database is a searchable collection of information and may contain a range of information including books, journal articles, reports, newspaper articles, reviews, film and TV.
Some specialise in one subject or a specific type of infomation (e.g journal articles), others have a range of information types suitable for all subjects.
See links in this Subject Guide
Search by database title and filter for Databases on Library Search.
List of subscribed ARU databases.
Contact the library for general queries. If you need guidance on finding information and using resources in this guide you'll be directed to Jolene Cushion your Subject Librarian. You can also book a 30 minute appointment with Jolene.
Below are databases subscribed to by ARU Library. Many free sources also exist. They are listed on other pages in this guide.
Academic sources |
 |
|
| Bibliography of British and Irish History: Largest index of what has been published in British and Irish History from 55BC onward. Use subject searching shown in the help guide videos to get a comprehensive list of books/research on any topic. Click through or search the Library Search for content to access, use Interlibrary loan for items the library doesn't hold. | Oxford Dictionary of National Biography: Biographies of people who shaped British history and culture, written by experts on that person or era. ODNB integrates with BBIH, if you find an article and look at External sources - BBIH, you can click through to an extensive bibliography about that person. If off campus you must log into BBIH first for this to work. | |
 |
 |
 |
| Project Muse: Access to thousands of academic articles in Humanities and Social Sciences. | JSTOR: Large academic archive of journal articles and primary sources. |
Arts & Humanities Full Text: Access to thousands of journal articles from a broad range of disciplines. |
 |
 |
 |
| Bloomsbury Cultural History: Multi-volume works tracing the histories of topics as diverse as Emotions, Theatre and Western Empires. | Cambridge Histories Online: E-books, from Cambridge University Press. Filter for Only show access I have access to for full books. | Sage Research Methods: E-books, definitions, videos, podcasts and project planner on research methods including Historical research. |
Primary sources |
 |
 |
|
Churchill Archive: Over 800,000 digitised documents covering Churchill's life and related events. |
John Johnson Collection: Digitised ephemera from the 18th to early 20th centuries. | Gale Primary Sources: Archived UK newspapers from 1604 to the early 21st Century. |
 |
 |
 |
| Early Modern Books: Contains both Early European Books and Early English Books Online databases. Books and other printed material (1450-1700). | Migration to New Worlds: Digitised ephemera covering migration from 17th to early 20th centuries. | The Vogue archive: Find issues from 1892 to the present day. |
 |
 |
 |
| Archives Unbound: Broad range of archival documents. Global coverage, but key strength is US history. | British Periodicals: Hundreds of late 17th to early 20th Century periodicals | Historic Digimap: Ordnance survey maps from the 1840s to the 1990s. |
 |
 |
|
| 19th Century British Pamphlets: Digitised pamphlets. | UK Parliamentary Papers: Documents from 1660 to 2005. |
Media, news, statistics |
 |
 |
| Onefile News: World newspapers including current access to Daily Mail, The Guardian and The Observer. | General Onefile: General interest articles from magazines and the press and some academic journals. | Libby App Use the website or download the app to get access to over 4000 magazines. Link to Anglia Ruskin Library and Sign in with my card. |
 |
 |
 |
| Statista: statistics and reports. Includes historical statistics on a number of topics. | BoB Learning On demand: TV and radio from free to air channels. Record past and scheduled programs, make clips and playlists. Includes many history documentaries and recent history news/ programmes. | BBC Shakespeare Archive: Hundreds of TV and radio programmes from the BBC’s Shakespeare collection. |
 |
||
| Digital Theatre Plus: British theatre productions, includes study guides and interviews with practitioners. |