ARU Figshare
Anglia Ruskin University now has access to Figshare, an online platform for citing, sharing, and discovering research data. This user guide will walk you through the process of uploading, publishing, and sharing your data on Figshare.
If you have any questions about Figshare, or if need help any help finding, managing or using research data, please contact us at: arro@aru.ac.uk
What is ARU Figshare?
ARU Figshare is a place to make all your research data citable, shareable, and discoverable. Use it to share your supplementary research to make them first class outputs. Please note, if you are uploading journal articles and conference proceedings in accordance with the REF open access policy this should be done via Symplectic - details on how to do this are available here.
Some of the features of ARU Figshare include the following:
How to login
To get started visit: aru.figshare.com and click on the red Log in button in the top right side of the screen
If you're using a networked machine on campus you should be logged on automatically. If you're off campus or connecting a device via WiFi you should log on with your full username : e.g. abc123@anglia.ac.uk
How to upload your data
Upload your data to Figshare by following the steps below:
1. Select the +Create a new item button from the top left or just drag and drop your file(s) into the browser.
Dragging more than one file into the browser will prompt you to create one item with multiple files or create individual new items
2. Insert a Title. For information on how best to complete the fields for maximum exposure of your data, see our how-to guide here. Tips on how to fill out each of the fields can also be found on the right side of the screen.
3. Add Authors. Select co-authors from the list of manually add them by typing in all mandatory information. You can rearrange the order in which the authors appear and remove yourself as an author if you are uploading on behalf of someone
4. Select a Category. These are taken from the Australian Fields of Research classification system. You can choose more than one and either select from the drop-down menu or search for your subject area. If you can’t find exactly what you’re looking for, we recommend finding the best option and getting more specific in the Keywords section
5. Select your school or research institute from the dropdown menu in the Group field. When this item is published, it will appear in the group you have selected from the menu. You should only see options for your Faculty displayed here
6. Select the Item type from the drop-down menu. Figshare accepts any file type and previews over 1,200 file extensions in the browser. This field may be auto populated based on the file extension you have uploaded but you can override it by selected a different option from the drop-down menu.
7. Add Keyword(s). These should be more specific than the category and help others find your research. Add as many keywords as you want - just hit enter after each keyword. Figshare remembers ones you’ve entered previously and will suggest keywords based on keywords that have been added to the database previously.
8. Write a Description. This should include any relevant information that pertains to your research - this might include information about the methodology, approval for data collection, or legal or ethical requirements. Be as descriptive as you can! You can also paste HTML into this field.
9. Select a License. This will determine how others can reuse your data. You can choose from a number of licenses based on your reuse requirements. For more information on which license to choose, click here.
10. Tick Publish. This will change the 'Save Changes' button to 'Publish Item'. When you click this button your submission will then be passed to the Library team for checking as part of our data curation workflow.It will not become public until the Library team have reviewed your submission.
How to upload confidential files, linked files, embargoed files, and metadata records only
There are a number of reasons why you may want to conditionally upload your files:
1. How to upload a confidential file
Once you have selected a file to upload, scroll to the bottom of the page and tick Make file(s) confidential. You can include a reason why the item is confidential.
2. How to upload a linked file
Click the Link file button at the top of the screen and copy the link in the box. This option only appears if you haven’t uploaded a file to the item.
3. How to upload an embargoed item
Select the Apply Embargo button and select whether you want the embargo on the file(s) only or the metadata, as well. Select the embargo period and the reason.
4. How to make metadata records
Tick the metadata record only box at the top of the screen and enter a reason. This option only appears if you haven’t uploaded a file to the item.
How to restore a deleted file
Once a file is deleted from an item, you have 30 days to restore it. Simply select the option to restore it on the right hand side, hover over the file(s) you want to restore, and click on the circular icon to restore the files to the item.
How to request more storage quota
Login and head to your My Data tab. When hovering over the storage bar you will see the option to request more. Clicking on request more? brings up the form shown below. Enter the total overall storage quota you require and any additional comments that may assist your administrator (University Library Team) when deciding on the modified storage amount. Hit submit and once approved your new quota amount will be visible in the storage bar.
How to use projects
Projects are collaborative spaces used for ongoing work. You can upload data that is in progress and have users make comments. Projects are secure spaces that can be used for sensitive data. You can also collaborate with people outside your institution by inviting them to your project.
There are two different types of projects: individual projects and group projects.
|
Individual Projects |
Group Projects |
|
Everyone uses their own quota and account storage. |
Submitters’ quota will not be used, storage allocation comes directly from the project. |
|
People take their work with them if they leave the project. |
All work is stored on institutional storage and remains within the project space if people leave. |
|
Items are created using the metadata schema of the submitter. |
Contributors must adopt the metadata schema of the project owner. |
|
Items appear in the subgroup of the uploader. |
Items appear in the subgroup of the project owner. |
|
Items published by users from outside the organisation don’t have to go through review (if review is turned on for the group). |
Items published by users from outside the organisation have to go through review (if review is turned on for the group). |
1. How to start a project
Go to your My Data page and select the Projects tab. Click on the +Create a new project button. Complete the metadata fields as descriptively as possible. If this project is for individual use, select the individual option under Allocate storage. To use group storage, select the group option and find the relevant group.
Add users to the project by searching on the right hand side. Add users not currently on Figshare by clicking on the invite new users link. Users can either be collaborators or viewers. Collaborators can comment on the project and the data within it and upload items, while viewers can only view the data. To make the project public, you must first make at least one item public within the project.
Please note: The project owner, collaborators, and viewers cannot edit another uploader’s items. Items must be downloaded, edited, and re-uploaded to the project.
2. How to add data and notes to a project
Select Add a new item, which takes you to the metadata form. Once you’ve saved the item, it will appear in the home page of the project. As a collaborator, you can comment on individual items within the project or on the project as a whole.
You can also move data from your My data to a project by clicking the checkbox to the left of the item you want to move in your My data, clicking on Actions, selecting Move to/from project, and selecting the project you want to move the data to/from
How to use Collections
Collections are ways of collating data that bring it together under a theme. They can be either private or public and can be assigned a DOI.
1. How to create a Collection
Go to the Collections tab under My Data. Complete the sections with a green dot next to them to make it public. Click Save changes once you’ve completed the form
2. How to add data to a Collection
There are two ways to add data to a Collection:
1) Once you’ve created the Collection, select Add public items or My data. If you select from public items, you can search and select the items you wish to add to your collection. The same process applies if you choose from your data. If you’re a member of an institution that is using Figshare for Institution, you can also filter by your institution’s data.
2) If you find a public item you wish to add to a Collection, simply select +Collect and choose the Collection to add it to.
3. How to publish a Collection
Once you’ve collected your data, you can make your Collection public by selecting the Manage gear wheel on the right side of the screen and selecting Publish collection. Once you’ve published a collection, it’s permanent.
