A database is a searchable collection of information and may contain a range of information including books, journal articles, reports, newspaper articles, reviews, film and TV.
Some specialise in one subject or a specific type of infomation (e.g journal articles), others have a range of information types suitable for all subjects.
See links in this Subject Guide
Search by database title and filter for Databases on Library Search.
List of subscribed ARU databases.
Use Ask ARU for general library queries.
If you need guidance on finding information and using resources in this guide you will be directed to your subject librarians - Jane Shelley, Karen Ready and Peter Stokes.
You can also use our Book a Librarian service to book a 30 minute appointment.
US Government policy impact on research and data availability
Actions by the United States Government since January 2025 are having an impact on the content of Medline/PubMed.
See this page for information and useful links.
New interface for CINAHL Plus, Medline and other EBSCO databases
See this page for more information.
Health| CINAHL Ultimate: Journal articles in nursing and allied health. |  |
MEDLINE: Journal articles in biomedical sciences and health. |
 |
| ScienceDirect: Journal articles in sciences and humanities published by Elsevier. |  |
Cochrane Library: Systematic reviews |  |
|
PubMed: free access to 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Set up LibKey Nomad browser extension to connect easily to ARU full text journals direct from Pubmed. |
 |
Embase:
Journal articles and research papers medical, biomedical and pharmacological subject areas.. (Note: Exporting to RefWorks - limit of 2000 records at a time). |
 |
Anatomy and Physiology|
Designed for use with tablets and mobile devices, it has high quality graphics and includes tutorials and quizzes. On a PC it works best with Firefox. To download on a mobile device – download from the Library Website while on campus. |
 |
Acland's Video Atlas of the Human Body Human anatomy video lessons using human bodies - with 3D images which can be rotated. |
 |
Leadership and Management|
General business and management database which includes journal articles on healthcare management. |
|
Also contains journal articles on healthcare management. |
|
|
Includes journal articles on healthcare management. |
 |
Also contains journal articles on healthcare management. |
 |
Other| SCOPUS: World’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. |  |
Web of Science: Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Similar to SCOPUS. |  |
| LinkedIn Learning: Tutorials to learn and improve business, creative and technological skills. |  |
Sage Research Methods: E-books, definitions, videos, podcasts and project planner on research methods. |  |
| BoB Learning On demand: TV and radio from free to air channels. Record past and scheduled programs, make clips and playlists. |  |
Onefile News: World newspapers including current access to Daily Mail, The Guardian and The Observer. |  |