Use databases to help you find literature for your assignments and research projects.
A database is a searchable collection of information sources and may contain a range of sources including books, journal articles, reports, newspaper articles, theses, trade publications, reviews and TV broadcasts
Some contain full-text, others contain abstracts and references. Some focus on one subject area, others are multidisciplinary.
Most have good search facilities to enable flexible, structured and focused searching. Results can be exported to RefWorks, Excel or other reference management software.
Find using ARU database A-Z - look for specific databases or browse by subject.
See links on this page for subject specific recommendations.
Contact the library with general questions. You'll be redirected quickly to the Subject Librarian team if you need help with finding information sources or referencing,
Need more in-depth help? Book an appointment with your Subject Librarian, Andrea Packwood.
This page contains links to academic databases useful for hearing sciences and related fields, including patient experience. We pay for most of the databases so access is through Library Login.
Getting into the databases:
PubMed and some other databases are publicly available so can be 'Googled'.
Want to read an article in full? Databases do not always contain the full version of items displayed in results lists. Use Full-text options @ARU links to see if we have the full-text in our other subscriptions - or use Google Scholar to check for open access, freely available articles.
No full-text? Use InterLibrary Loan to request articles free of charge.
Want to save your results? You can export results from all our databases to RefWorks, ARU's subscribed reference management tool.
Medical and professional research|
MEDLINE: Journal articles in all aspects of medicine and health. Access through the Library. Search in conjunction with Cinahl for a comprehensive search. |
 |
PubMed: publicly available medical database so can access via Google. Contains all of Medline plus range of other material such as book reviews. Includes material from daily updates awaiting processing for inclusion in Medline. |
 |
|
CINAHL Ultimate: Journal articles in patient care, nursing and allied health - including audiology and hearing health. Includes a lot of full-text articles. |
 |
ScienceDirect: Peer-reviewed journals and journal articles published by Elsevier. Contains several key hearing journals. |  |
| Wiley Online Library: Peer-reviewed journals and journal articles published by Wiley. Contains several key hearing journals. |  |
Global Index Medicus: worldwide access to literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. Material collated by WHO. |  |
| ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection: may be useful for medical technology and trade publications (professional magazines). |  |
PsycInfo: Very large index covering all aspects of psychology including those related to hearing. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). |
 |
Business, marketing and professional standards|
British Standards Online (BSOL): Full UK standards for industry practice.
|
 |
Company, sector and management topics in journals and trade publications. |
|
Multidisciplinary| SCOPUS: World’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. |  |
Web of Science: Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Similar to SCOPUS. |  |
Banner image credit: Ear examination using auriscope. Kate Whitley. Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) https://wellcomecollection.org/works/ajp9a9z4